Archives for the month of: September, 2012

Will the blue hats ever show up in Alabama?

The lone win for Ole Miss over the Crimson Tide in the state of Alabama came in Tuscaloosa in 1988 to break an 0-23-1 streak. Since then the Rebels have lost 10 consecutive games to the Tide in Alabama for the mark to fall to a horrendous 1-33-1. The tie came in Birmingham in 1933.

Alabama hasn’t lost to Ole Miss since Manning and former head coach David Cutcliffe were in control in Oxford almost a decade ago.

Ole Miss hasn’t defeated Alabama at all since Eli Manning was under center in 2003, putting Alabama’s current winning streak over the Rebels at 8 games. Its longest streak in the series is 12.

As new Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze tries to change the culture around his football program, he can forget about winning in Alabama tomorrow night against the top-ranked team in the country.


Georgia will honor its former radio broadcast announcer Larry Munson tomorrow by officially naming Sanford Stadium’s broadcast booth as the “Larry Munson Broadcast Suite.” Today would have been Munson’s 90th birthday.

The Bulldogs host Tennessee tomorrow. Munson coined the first big moment of the Mark Richt era in 2001 as “Hobnail Boot” when Georgia upset the Vols in Knoxville on a last-second touchdown.

A plaque outside the Larry Munson Broadcast Suite will read:

“Dedicated to legendary Bulldog play-by-play announcer Larry Munson who served as the voice of the Bulldog Nation from 1966-2008. His dedication, loyalty, passion and extraordinary delivery over 42 years endeared him to Georgia fans in every city, state, and nation around the world, always urging the teams, and the fans, to ‘hunker down you guys.'”

Photos during Munson’s career will be displayed in the broadcast suite.

Arkansas leads the overall series with Texas A&M 41-24-3, meeting many times as members of the defunct Southwest Conference (SWC) and starting the series in 1903. The first two games between the Razorbacks and Aggies as SEC members will be played on campus, beginning tomorrow at A&M’s Kyle Field and in Fayetteville in 2013. The series, which has recently been called the Southwest Classic and played in the new Cowboys Stadium, will return to Dallas in 2014 through 2024.

A different version of the “Southwest Champions” playing in the “Cotton Bowl.”

Arkansas has won all three contests since the rivalry was renewed in 2009. However, the first-year Aggies have a big opportunity to wrestle away a win from the 1-3 Razorbacks tomorrow.

Vanderbilt head coach James Franklin and Georgia defensive coordinator Todd Grantham confront each other after last year’s game. Both coaches took issue with the other team’s extracurricular activities, which got Vanderbilt’s offensive lineman Logan Stewart and Georgia’s defensive lineman Kwame Geathers and safety Shawn Williams suspended by the SEC.

James Franklin and Georgia head coach Mark Richt discuss the situation.

LSU enters league play for the first time Saturday night at Auburn. These two Tigers have played some memorable games with unlikely circumstances. LSU leads the overall series 25-20-1.

The infamous Earthquake game in 1988. LSU won 7-6 in Baton Rouge.

The Interception game in 1994. Auburn, trailing 23-9 in the 4th quarter, won 30-26 after returning three interceptions for touchdowns in Auburn.

The Fire game in 1996. The old Auburn Sports Arena, known as The Barn, burned to the ground during the game across the street from Jordan-Hare Stadium in Auburn. LSU won 19-15.

The Cigar game in 1999. Auburn players celebrate with cigars on LSU’s field after a 41-7 win. Many LSU fans mark this picture as the spark to the rivalry.

Auburn kicker/punter Damon Duval gets into it with the LSU band in 2001 in Baton Rouge. LSU won 27-14.

LSU WR Demetrius Byrd catches the winning touchdown in 2007 after Les Miles elects to throw for the endzone with two seconds left even though a field goal would have won the game.

Missouri visits the other Columbia in conference this Saturday at 3:30 pm EDT. The Tigers own a 2-0 all-time record against South Carolina, defeating the Gamecocks 24-14 in the 1979 Hall of Fame Bowl and 38-31 in the 2005 Independence Bowl.

The most recent matchup saw South Carolina blow a 21-0 first quarter lead in what was the biggest comeback in Independence Bowl history as well as Missouri history. The Tigers were led by QB Brad Smith, now a wide receiver for the Buffalo Bills, who ended the day with 432 yards of total offense (282 passing yards and 150 rushing yards). Smith held 69 different Missouri, Big 12 and NCAA game, season and career records when he finished his career as a Tiger, starting for four seasons.

The 2005 Independence Bowl team was the first South Carolina team led by Steve Spurrier, finishing 7-5 overall and 5-3 in conference for 2nd place in the SEC East and derailing Florida’s chances of a division championship with a 30-22 November win over the Gators in Columbia, S.C. It was Urban Meyer’s first year at Florida’s helm also.

Highlights from the 2005 Independence Bowl:


Ole Miss travels to New Orleans Saturday to take on Tulane, a founding member of the SEC in 1932-1933. After sharing the SEC title with Alabama in 1934, #13 Tulane defeated #3 Temple 20-14 in the inaugural Sugar Bowl played on Jan. 1, 1935. The Green Wave finished 10-1 with its only loss to Colgate. It defeated current SEC members Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Ole Miss, Kentucky and LSU as well as former members Georgia Tech and Sewanee in 1934.

Tulane won three SEC championships — 1934, 1939 and 1949 — before leaving the conference in 1966. That’s still more than founding members Kentucky (2) and Mississippi State (1) have today.

Ole Miss leads the series with Tulane 42-28, and has played the Green Wave more than any other program outside the SEC. The Rebels defeated Tulane 27-13 in 2010.